Loading Map....

Date(s) - 16/07/2018
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Jarrow and Hebburn Athletics Club


Monday 16 July 2018 from 5.45 pm at Monkton Stadium.

All current and former members of Jarrow and Hebburn AC are invited to come along to this celebration, which will recognise the great achievements of our former athletes and pay tribute to the late Sir John Jarvis, whose generosity helped set up the Club 80 years ago.

Amongst those in attendance will be Steve Cram CBE (The Club’s Honorary President), who set world records in the 1500, 2000 and mile during a remarkable 19-day period in 1985, David Sharpe who won the European indoor Champion over 800m in 1988 and Paul Cuskin, formerly ranked as the UK’s top 10,000m runner.

The Club will be presenting awards to these athletes and to others who are sadly no longer with us. There will be a special award for the former world mile record holder and New Zealand athlete, John Walker, who raced in the Stadium when it was officially opened.

In partnership with South Tyneside Council, a plaque commemorating Sir John Jarvis will also be officially unveiled in the Stadium by his granddaughter, Tessa Preece.

There will be a group photograph inside the Stadium at 6.10pm and it would be great to get as many club members, especially our juniors; (the future Crams, Sharpes, Cuskins and Sarah McDonalds of the world) taking part. To see club athletes of past, present and future all in together will be fantastic.

Parking – There is a Masters track meeting on at Monkton that evening, so please respect that event and avoid parking in the main car park. Where possible, please car-share, walk/run/cycle or use public transport.

Club members of legal drinking age are invited to join former members for drinks in the Lord Nelson afterwards.

The evening has been organised by a group of former and current club athletes, including Tommy Tweddell, Paul Cuskin and Michael McNally. The historical research Tommy has done in particular, has been instrumental in laying the groundwork for this event.


Timetable of Events


18:00 Arrival of guests and registration of visitors


  • Tessa Preece Sir John Jarvis’s granddaughter
  • Mike Parsons Mayor of Guildford
  • Ken Stephenson South Tyneside Mayor
  • Fay Cunningham South Tyneside Council
  • Iain Malcolm Leader: South Tyneside Council
  • Martin Swales South Tyneside Council
  • Mike Conlon South Tyneside Council
  • Stephen Hepburn Jarrow MP
  • Anne Milton Guildford MP
  • Winifred Currie Local History Group

18:10 Inside the Stadium


  • Welcome and background
  • Unveiling of special plaque to commemorate Sir John Jarvis by Tessa Preece and the Mayors of South Tyneside and Guildford
  • Presentation of Jarvis Cup to Fay Cunningham
  • Group photograph 

18:30 Award of Order honours/celebrations of achievements:

Memorial awards


  • Bob Charlton accepted by Jonathan Gilroy
  • Tommy Power Tom Power – Tommy’s son
  • Jack Reiber Marie Reiber – Jack’s granddaughter
  • John Dickinson accepted by Andrea Fyall
  • Jimmy Hedley Diane Holmes – Jimmy’s daughter
  • Eric Huskisson Judith Parr – Eric’s daughter
  • Alan Robson Robson family representative

Personal awards

  • John Keefe
  • Terry Laybourne
  • Wilf Wardle
  • Liz McGarry
  • Dave Wright
  • Diane Holmes
  • Dawn McGeachie
  • David Mills
  • Dave Maguire
  • Steve Cram
  • Paul Cuskin
  • Ken Lowther
  • David Sharpe
  • Alan Wears

Honourary awards

  • Sir John Jarvis accepted by Tessa Preece
  • Sir John Walker accepted by Steve Cram

19:00 Closure of Awards and Commemorative Photograph

Thanks from Tom Tweddell; request for memorabilia

Following the commemorative photograph there will be tea, coffee, and biscuits and a chance to mix with friends and families

20:00 CLOSE


Jarrow and Hebburn Athletic Club – Celebrating 80 Years